5 rules how not to lose data on a laptop forever

Clients often turn to us with requests for assistance in recovering lost information on a laptop. Although in most cases we can help, sometimes we have to deal with hopeless situations. In this article, we'll talk about how to minimize the risk of data loss and mitigate the consequences of such loss if it does happen.

5 rules how not to lose data on a laptop forever

5 rules how not to lose data on a laptop forever

Clients often turn to us with requests for assistance in recovering lost information on a laptop. Although in most cases we can help, sometimes we have to deal with hopeless situations. In this article, we'll talk about how to minimize the risk of data loss and mitigate the consequences of such loss if it does happen.

Copy to external drives

Make backup copies of important files, documents, photos to an external drive and copy all the necessary data to it. Use only reliable, time-tested media from reputable manufacturers to create and update data backups. Repeat every month or more. This is probably the most "old-fashioned" way, which does not detract from its effectiveness.

Keep your backup separate

There is no point in backing up your data if you carry it in the same bag as your laptop. The computer was stolen, and the backup also disappeared. Keep your backups in a safe place away from your laptop.

Copy to «cloud»

Cloud storage is a data storage model where information is stored on servers distributed over a network, usually provided to users by a third party. You can use one of the popular cloud services, for example, Dropbox, Yandex.Disk, Google Drive, OneDrive.

The advantage of cloud storage is that you can work with data from any device from anywhere with Internet access and keep full copies of your data on several laptops at the same time..

Automatic file backup function

Not a few people know about the built-in backup in Windows, but only a few use it. The possibilities of this function are as follows: it analyzes files, copies everything that has changed to the drive of your choice, and allows you to view by date - from the current day and back to the past. So it's easy to find a lost file of a specific version.

Copy to NAS

A network-attached storage (NAS) can be used for specific tasks and to increase the level of storage security. Network-attached storage (NAS) is an advanced enclosure for hard drives with a processor, memory, network interfaces and its own operating system.

In other words, a small, dedicated computer with multiple slots for hard drives, designed to work over a network. Main advantages: wide functionality, flexible settings, the ability to install a large number of capacious hard drives. Many NAS have their own software that can automatically copy selected data on a schedule - the usefulness of this function can hardly be overestimated.

Callback
Open viber-чат

5 правил, как не потерять данные на ноутбуке навсегда

К нам часто обращаются клиенты с просьбами об оказании помощи в восстановлении утраченной информации на ноутбуке. Хотя в большинстве случаев мы можем помочь, но иногда приходятся иметь дело и с безнадежными ситуациями. В этой статье мы поговорим о том, как минимизировать риск утери данных и смягчить последствия такой утраты, если она все же произойдет.

5 правил, как не потерять данные на ноутбуке навсегда

5 правил, как не потерять данные на ноутбуке навсегда

К нам часто обращаются клиенты с просьбами об оказании помощи в восстановлении утраченной информации на ноутбуке. Хотя в большинстве случаев мы можем помочь, но иногда приходятся иметь дело и с безнадежными ситуациями. В этой статье мы поговорим о том, как минимизировать риск утери данных и смягчить последствия такой утраты, если она все же произойдет.

Копировать на внешние накопители

Делайте резервные копии важных файлов, документов, фотографий на внешний накопитель и копируйте на него все нужные данные. Для создания и обновления резервных копий данных используйте только надежные, проверенные временем носители от известных производителей. Повторять каждый месяц или чаще. Это, наверное, самый «дедовский» способ, что не умаляет его эффективности.

Держите резервную копию отдельно

В резервной копии данных нет никакого смысла, если носить ее в той же сумке, что и сам ноутбук. Украли компьютер – исчезла и резервная копия. Держите резервные копии в безопасном месте подальше от ноутбука.

Копировать в «облако»

Облачные хранилища — это модель хранения данных, когда информация хранится на распределенных в сети серверах, обычно предоставляемых пользователям третьей стороной. Воспользоваться можно одним из популярных облачных сервисов, например, Dropbox, Яндекс.Диск, Google Drive, OneDrive.

Преимущество облачных хранилищ заключаются в том, что работать с данными можно с любого устройства из любого места, где есть доступ в интернет и держать полные копии своих данных на нескольких ноутбуках одновременно.

Функция автоматического бэкапа файлов

О встроенном бэкапе в Windows знают не немногие, а пользуются вообще единицы. Возможности такой функции такие: она анализирует файлы, копирует на выбранный вами накопитель всё, что изменилось, и позволяет просматривать по датам — начиная с текущего дня и назад в прошлое. Так что найти потерянный файл определённой версии не составит труда.

Копировать на NAS

Для специфических задач и повышения уровня безопасности хранения данных можно использовать сетевой накопитель (NAS). Сетевые накопители (NAS — Network-attached storage) — продвинутые корпуса для жестких дисков с процессором, памятью, сетевыми интерфейсами и собственной операционной системой.

Другими словами, маленький специализированный компьютер с несколькими слотами под жёсткие диски, предназначенный для работы по сети. Основные достоинства: широкая функциональность, гибкие настройки, возможность установки большого количества вместительных жёстких дисков. Многие из NAS имеют свой софт, который может автоматически копировать выбранные данные по расписанию — полезность этой функции трудно переоценить.