What to do if a laptop is flooded with liquid

One of the most common problems that laptop owners contact our service center is spilled liquid. Therefore, we are often asked what measures should be taken when a laptop is flooded with water, tea, beer, champagne or other liquid. What to do if the laptop is flooded with liquid and how to reduce the cost of probable repairs, if possible, we will tell in this article.

What to do if a laptop is flooded with liquid

What to do if a laptop is flooded with liquid

One of the most common problems that laptop owners contact our service center is spilled liquid. Therefore, we are often asked what measures should be taken when a laptop is flooded with water, tea, beer, champagne or other liquid. This article will tell you what to do if your laptop is flooded with liquid and how to reduce the cost of possible repairs if possible.

If, nevertheless, liquid got inside the laptop, then in this case you need to do the following:

1. First of all, disconnect the device without delay. Unplug the cord from the outlet, turn off the power supply and remove the battery, remove the connected peripherals, disconnect the external drive. In this case, we do not wait for the normal shutdown of the operating system - even if the documents are not saved as a result of an emergency shutdown, this will be much less waste than a laptop breakdown. In a de-energized laptop, the internal temperature will begin to drop rapidly, and the oxidation processes may not even have time to start, and if they have begun, they will proceed much slower than when the mode is on. In addition, when the laptop is turned on, there is a high probability of short-circuiting the conductors and failure of individual microcircuits.

2. After turning off the power to the laptop, remove the visible liquid with a soft cloth, turn the laptop upside down and drain the liquid that gets inside. This action, possibly, will prevent liquid from leaking onto the motherboard, and then only the laptop keyboard needs to be repaired, and not the entire device. When merging, it is very important to ensure that water does not get into the laptop and the display - if it gets between the layers of the matrix, then expensive repairs will also not be avoided.

3. Leave the laptop with the display upside down, with a dry, absorbent cloth underneath it for 1 to 2 hours. Support the laptop securely so it does not fall. And under no circumstances turn it back on, even if the laptop is dry. Externally, the laptop can be dried, but it is impossible to visually determine the degree and volume of liquid penetration and the consequences of its destructive effect.

4. After the above steps, preferably in the next day or as soon as possible, you need to contact the service center. In a laptop, oxidation processes are continuously going on and corrosion covers more and more areas of conductors, which ultimately leads to their complete burnout. That is why it is necessary to remove the liquid from the laptop elements immediately.

Don't try to disassemble and dry your laptop yourself. It will not be possible to completely remove the trapped liquid without special equipment. You will only waste valuable time and thereby significantly increase the likelihood of costly repairs.

Even if you let the laptop dry out, then turned it on, and it started working, this does not mean at all that the danger of the device failure has completely passed. The liquid can get under small elements and stay there for a long time, the consequences of the oxidative processes activated by it will appear a little later - the laptop will suddenly turn off and will not turn on again until the repair. Oxidation can take several days, or several weeks, months, depending on the nature of the liquid and its amount.

That is why we highly recommend contacting the service center for timely diagnostics and cleaning, even if a small amount of liquid is spilled, and in no case try to turn on the laptop.

Callback

Что делать, если залили ноутбук жидкостью

Одной самой распространенной проблемой, с которой обращаются в наш сервисный центр владельцы ноутбуков – пролитая жидкость. Поэтому нас часто спрашивают какие меры необходимо принимать при залитии ноутбука водой, чаем, пивом, шампанским или другой жидкостью. Что делать, если ноутбук залит жидкостью и как по возможности снизить затраты на вероятный ремонт мы расскажем в этой статье.

Что делать, если залили ноутбук жидкостью

Что делать, если залили ноутбук жидкостью

Одной самой распространенной проблемой, с которой обращаются в наш сервисный центр владельцы ноутбуков – пролитая жидкость. Поэтому нас часто спрашивают какие меры необходимо принимать при залитии ноутбука водой, чаем, пивом, шампанским или другой жидкостью. Что делать, если ноутбук залит жидкостью и как по возможности снизить затраты на вероятный ремонт мы расскажем в этой статье.

Если всё-таки внутрь ноутбука попала жидкость, то в этом случае необходимо сделать следующее:

1. Прежде всего, без промедления нужно обесточить устройство. Вынуть шнур из розетки, отключить блок питания и вынуть аккумуляторную батарею, извлечь подключенную периферию, отключить внешний диск. В данном случаи не дожидаемся штатного завершения работы операционной системы – даже если в результате аварийного отключения документы не сохранены, это будет намного меньшей тратой, чем поломка ноутбука. В обесточенном ноутбуке внутренняя температура начнет быстро понижаться, и процессы окисления, возможно, даже не успеют начаться, а если и начались, будут протекать значительно медленнее, чем при включенном режиме. Кроме того, во включенном ноутбуке существует большая вероятность закорачивания проводников и выхода из строя отдельных микросхем.

2. После обесточивания ноутбука следует убрать видимую жидкость мягкой салфеткой, перевернуть ноутбук вверх дном и слить жидкость, попавшую внутрь. Данное действие, возможно, убережет от протекания жидкости на материнскую плату, и тогда потребуется лишь ремонт клавиатуры ноутбука, а не всего устройства. При слитии очень важно следить за тем, чтобы вода не попала в ноутбук и на дисплей – если она проникнет между слоями матрицы, то дорогостоящего ремонта также не получится избежать.

3. Оставьте ноутбук перевернутым дисплеем вниз, предварительно подложив под него сухую хорошо впитывающую жидкость ткань на 1-2 часа. Надежно зафиксируйте ноутбук, чтобы он не упал. И ни при каких обстоятельствах не включайте его снова, даже если ноутбук высох. Внешне ноутбук может быть просушен, но определить визуально степень и объем проникновения жидкости и последствия ее разрушительного воздействия невозможно.

4. После вышеперечисленных действий, желательно в ближайшие сутки или как можно скорее нужно обратиться в сервисный центр. В ноутбуке непрерывно протекают окислительные процессы и коррозия охватывает все большие площади проводников, что в конечном итоге приводит к их полному выгоранию. Именно поэтому удалить попавшую жидкость с элементов ноутбука нужно незамедлительно.

Не стоит пытаться разбирать и сушить ноутбук самостоятельно. Полностью убрать попавшую жидкость без специального оборудования не получится. Вы только потеряете драгоценное время и тем самым значительно увеличите вероятность дорогостоящего ремонта.

Даже если Вы дали ноутбуку просохнуть, после чего включили его, и он заработал, это вовсе не означает, что опасность выхода устройства из строя полностью миновала. Жидкость может попасть под мелкие элементы и долго там находиться, последствия активизируемых ею окислительных процессов проявятся чуть позже – ноутбук неожиданно выключится и до ремонта больше не включится. Окисление может происходить как несколько дней, так и несколько недель, месяцев – зависит от характера жидкости и ее количества.

Именно поэтому мы крайне рекомендуем обратится в сервисный центр за своевременной диагностикой и чисткой даже при пролитиях небольшого количества жидкости и ни в коем случае не пытаться включить ноутбук.