SSD or HDD. What is better for your laptop?

To store information on a laptop, manufacturers offer two options: solid-state drive (SSD) and hard disk (HDD). Between themselves, they differ in the technology of reading/writing information. Let's see what the differences are of each type.


SSD or HDD. What is better for your laptop?

SSD or HDD. What is better for your laptop?

To store information on a laptop, manufacturers offer two options: solid-state drive (SSD) and hard disk (HDD). Between themselves, they differ in the technology of reading / writing information. Let's see what the differences are of each type.

An SSD is free of moving elements, weighs less, and runs quietly. There are no read heads consuming battery power - power consumption will be low. But there is one feature, the drive has a limited number of write / read cycles.

An HDD, or hard drive, consists of moving parts. The plates are magnetized and usually rotate at a speed of 5400, 7200 or 10000 rpm. A special head writes, deletes and reads information from magnetic disks. Hard drives were called "hard drives" precisely for the characteristic noise during operation. Due to the fact that there are moving elements inside it, it does not survive a fall, and its speed is limited.

Knowing the differences between HDD and SSD will help you rationally choose a laptop with a suitable medium - optimal for work or entertainment. To determine which option is preferable for your laptop, consider the main characteristics of the two types of drives.

Speed ​​

The speed of SSDs depends on the parameters of the controller, which searches for data on the disk. As soon as the controller determines where the information is located, it is almost instantly read. As a result, SSD speed is 2-4 times higher than that of HDD.

The difference is clearly visible when the operating system starts. Windows 10 on the hard drive loads 40-60 seconds, and on the solid state drive after 10 seconds it is ready to work.

The average speed of reading / writing information in HDD ranges from 60-200 Mb / s, and in SSD - above 500 Mb / s. SSDs also open files 30% faster.

Conclusion: To increase the speed of operation, choose SSD.

Volume

HDD has a large capacity: you can find models with a volume of 10 and 12 TB. The maximum SSD capacity is still within 4 TB, but they promise to fix it in the future.

Output: If more memory is needed, select HDD. Although with the development of cloud storage and the advent of external hard drives, this has ceased to be an acute problem.

Power Consumption

Since we select a hard drive for a laptop, the amount of energy it consumes is also very important, because it directly affects the battery life of the entire device. On average, hard drives consume several watts, and SSDs consume less than 1 watts. Due to the lower power consumption, the latter also get less heated.

Conclusion: If battery life is important, it is preferable to choose an SSD.

Work volume

As mentioned above, inside the HDD there are read heads, during operation they move, and thereby create noise and vibration. SSDs have no such side effects.

Conclusion: SSD is more suitable for silent and comfortable work. Although modern HDDs also began to work quieter compared to their "relatives" a decade ago.

Service Life

Solid state drives have one significant drawback - a limited number of cycles of rewriting information. Therefore, modern models try to overwrite all cells evenly so that no part of the disk crashes ahead of time.

The life of an SSD depends on how it is used. If you record dozens of gigabytes daily, it will not last long. If overwriting data is carried out infrequently or in small quantities, then in this case the SSD will serve at the HDD level.

For the same reasons, SSDs do not need defragmentation, since this is an extra rewrite cycle.

Conclusion: SSDs are not suitable for those who often write a lot of voluminous files. Hard drives, on the other hand, have unlimited rewriting cycles.

Maintainability

Sometimes a hard drive crashes due to unforeseen circumstances. For example, for a hard disk, this is a drop or a magnetic field. Moving elements are damaged from the impact of the plate, and after a while the HDD becomes unusable. If a magnetic field of sufficient magnitude is applied to the drive, it can disrupt the magnetic order in the plates, and accordingly all information will be lost.

These factors cannot disable the SSD. However, a solid-state drive burns out completely from a power surge. In a similar situation, only a small area is damaged in the hard drive, plus it is easier to recover information from it. Recovering data from an SSD is much harder, and this is less common than with a HDD.

Conclusion: Recovering information from the hard drive is easier, but the solid state drive does not break when it falls.

Price

Despite the many advantages, the main factor restraining the growth of sales of solid state drives is the price. In terms of the cost of one gigabyte, an SSD is several times more expensive than a HDD.

Conclusion: The larger the volume of the hard drive, the less each gigabyte costs, and the most economical option (when calculating the cost of 1 GB) is a large hard drive.

Given all the features, it is preferable to have an SSD traveling with their laptops and those who appreciate high performance. For those who work with a huge number of files, HDD is more suitable.

However, the most effective option is to add a solid-state hard drive. In this case, the operating system is installed on the SSD, and personal files are stored on the HDD. As a result, the OS and programs start up quickly and there is plenty of space for storing information.

Callback

SSD или HDD. Что лучше для Вашего ноутбука?

Для хранения информации на ноутбуке производители предлагают два варианта: твердотельный накопитель (SSD) и жесткий диск (HDD). Между собой они отличаются технологией считывания/записи информации. Давайте разберемся в чем состоят отличия каждого типа.

SSD или HDD. Что лучше для Вашего ноутбука?

SSD или HDD. Что лучше для Вашего ноутбука?

Для хранения информации на ноутбуке производители предлагают два варианта: твердотельный накопитель (SSD) и жесткий диск (HDD). Между собой они отличаются технологией считывания/записи информации. Давайте разберемся в чем состоят отличия каждого типа.

SSD не содержит движущихся элементов, весит меньше и работает тихо. Здесь нет считывающих головок, расходующих ресурсы аккумулятора – энергопотребление будет низким. Но есть одна особенность, накопитель имеет ограниченное количество циклов записи/чтения.

HDD, или же накопитель на жестких дисках, состоит из движущихся деталей. Пластины намагничены и обычно вращаются со скоростью 5400, 7200 или 10000 оборотов в минуту. Специальная головка записывает, удаляет и считывает информацию с магнитных дисков. Жесткие диски назвали «винчестерами» именно за характерный шум во время работы. Из-за того, что внутри него подвижные элементы, он не переживает падения, и скорость его работы ограничена.

Знания о различиях между HDD и SSD помогут рационально выбрать ноутбук с подходящим носителем — оптимальный для работы или развлечений. Чтобы определиться с тем, какой вариант желательнее для Вашего ноутбука, рассмотрим основные характеристики двух видов дисков.

Скорость работы

Скорость работы твердотельных накопителей зависит от параметров контроллера, который выполняет поиск данных на диске. Как только контроллер определил, где находится информация, так она практически молниеносно считывается. В результате скорость SSD в 2-4 раза выше, чем у HDD.

Наглядно разница заметна при запуске операционной системы. Windows 10 на жестком диске грузится 40-60 секунд, а на твердотельном накопителе уже через 10 секунд готова к работе.

Средняя скорость считывания/записи информации в HDD колеблется в пределах 60-200 Мб/с, а в SSD – выше 500 Мб/с. Кроме того, твердотельные накопители на 30% быстрее открывают файлы.

Вывод: Для повышения скорости работы выбирают SSD.

Объем

HDD отличается большой емкостью: можно найти модели объемом и 10, и 12 ТБ. Максимальная емкость SSD пока находится в пределах 4 ТБ, но в будущем это обещают исправить.

Вывод: Если необходимо больше памяти, выбирайте HDD. Хотя с развитием облачных хранилищ и появлением внешних жестких дисков, это перестало быть острой проблемой.

Энергопотребление

Поскольку подбираем винчестер для ноутбука, то количество потребляемой им энергии тоже очень важно, ведь это напрямую влияет на время автономной работы всего устройства. В среднем жесткие диски потребляют несколько Вт, а твердотельные накопители – менее 1 Вт. Из-за меньшей потребляемой мощности последние также меньше нагреваются.

Вывод: Если важно время автономной работы, предпочтительнее выбирать SSD.

Громкость работы

Как уже упоминалось выше, внутри HDD есть считывающие головки, во время работы они двигаются, и тем самым создают шум и вибрацию. Таких побочных эффектов лишены твердотельные накопители.

Вывод: Для бесшумной и комфортной работы больше подходит SSD. Хотя современные HDD тоже стали тише работать по сравнению со своими «родственникам» десятилетней давности.

Срок службы

Твердотельные накопители имеют один существенный недостаток – ограниченное количество циклов перезаписи информации. Поэтому современные модели стараются перезаписывать все ячейки равномерно, чтобы никакая часть диска не вышла из строя раньше времени.

Срок службы SSD напрямую зависит от способа его эксплуатации. Если ежедневно записывать десятки гигабайт, то прослужит он недолго. Если же перезапись данных осуществляется нечасто либо в небольших количествах, то в таком случае SSD прослужит на уровне HDD.

Из этих же соображений твердотельным накопителям не нужна дефрагментация, поскольку это лишний цикл перезаписи.

Вывод: Твердотельные накопители не подходят тем, кто часто записывает много объемных файлов. Жесткие диски, наоборот, неограниченны количеством циклов перезаписи.

Ремонтопригодность

Иногда винчестер выходит из строя из-за непредвиденных обстоятельств. Например, для жесткого диска это падение или магнитное поле. От удара пластины движущиеся элементы повреждаются, и через некоторое время HDD приходит в негодность. Если к накопителю приложить магнитное поле достаточной величины, то оно может нарушить магнитный порядок в пластинах, и соответственно вся информация пропадет.

Эти факторы не могут вывести из строя SSD. Однако от скачка напряжения твердотельный накопитель сгорает полностью. В аналогичной ситуации в жестком диске повреждается только небольшой участок, плюс с него легче восстановить информацию. Восстанавливать данные с SSD гораздо тяжелее, и удается это реже, чем в случае с HDD.

Вывод: Восстановить информацию с жесткого диска проще, но твердотельный накопитель не ломается при падении.

Цена

Несмотря на множество преимуществ, главным фактором, сдерживающим рост продаж твердотельных накопителей, является цена. В пересчете на стоимость одного гигабайта SSD оказывается в несколько раз дороже HDD.

Вывод: Чем больше объем винчестера, тем меньше обходится каждый гигабайт, а самый экономный вариант (при расчете стоимости 1 Гб) – большой жесткий диск.

Если учесть все особенности, SSD предпочтительнее иметь путешествующим со своим ноутбукам и тем, кто ценит высокую производительность. Для тех, кто работает с огромным количеством файлов, больше подойдет HDD.

Однако самым эффективным вариантом является дополнение жесткого диска твердотельным. В таком случае операционную систему устанавливают на SSD, а личные файлы хранят на HDD. В результате ОС и программы быстро запускаются и полно места для хранения информации.